E-Tourist Visa to India



In 2015, the Government of India announced Electronic visa facility for 43 countries. E-visa enables foreign tourists to arrive in India without possessing a physical visa. From June 15, 2015 foreign nationals from 31 other countries, in addition to the existing 43 countries were made eligible for e-tourist visa.



E-tourist visa is not Visa-on-arrival



It is important to note that the e-visa facility offered by the government of India is not the same as Visa-on-arrival. Visa-on-arrival is an option where tourists can obtain a visa after reaching the intended destination. However, e-tourist visa has to be obtained a minimum of 4 days before the date of arrival in India. Many tourists misinterpret e-tourist visa to be visa-on-arrival and arrive in India without obtaining a visa. Such individuals will be asked to go back to their respective country.



E-Visa Guidelines



Individuals traveling for the purpose of leisure, medical treatment for short duration, casual business visit and meeting with friends or relatives are eligible to apply.


The required fee is 62 USD.


The facility is currently available at nine Indian airports: Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai, Chennai, Kochi, Goa, Thiruvananthapuram,

Bengaluru and Hyderabad.


In June 15, 2015 the facility was extended to seven more Indian airports: Jaipur, Amritsar, Gaya, Lucknow, Trichy,

Varanasiand Ahmedabad.


To see the list of all the eligible countries, visit this link => HERE



India Tourist Visa On Arrival (TVoa)



Forty-four countries are currently eligible to apply under the India's Tourist Visa on Arrival Scheme. This facility is in addition to the existing traditional Visa services. Tourists, visitors, and employees, who wish to obtain a traditional visa, may still file in-person or by mail for visas which extend from 6 months to 10 years, based on visa type.


Click HERE to see the list of eligible countries



Applicant Eligibility



International travelers whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sight seeing, casual visit to meet friends or

relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit.


Passport should have at least six months validity from the date of arrival in India. The passport should have at least two

blank pages for stamping by the Immigration Officer.


International Travelers should have return ticket or onward journey ticket, with sufficient money during his/her stay in



International Travelers having Pakistani Passport or Pakistani origin must apply for regular Visa at Indian Mission.


Not available to Diplomatic/Official Passport Holders.


Not available to individuals endorsed on Parent’s/Spouse’s Passport, that is each individual should have a separate passport.


Not available to International Travel Document Holders.



Application Process



Applicants of the eligible countries may apply Online (Official India Tourist Visa on Arrival Site) minimum 4 days in advance

of the date of arrival with a window of 30 days. Example: If you are applying on 1st January, then applicant can select

arrival date from 5th January to 3rd February.


Applicant will be prompted to upload a recent front facing photograph with white background and photo page of Passport

containing personal details like applicant’s name, date of birth, nationality, expiration date, etc. The application is liable to

be rejected if the uploaded document and photograph are not clear and as per specification.


India Tourist visa on arrival (TVoA) fee is $60 USD per passenger excluding interchange charge for credit/debit cards. The

fee must be paid 4 days before the expected date of travel as entered by applicant, otherwise application will not be



The TVoA fee is non-refundable once submitted.


Applicant should carry a copy of Electronic Travel Authorization or ETA (sent via email) along with him/her at the time of



Mandatory biometric details of the applicant will be captured at Immigration on arrival in India. This could include finger

printing and eye and retina scans.


The validity of visa will be 30 days from the date of arrival in India.



Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) is valid for entry

through 9 designated Indian airports:



•Bengaluru – Kempegowda International Airport

•Chennai – Chennai International Airport

•Cochin – Cochin International Airport

•Delhi – Indira Gandhi International Airport

•Goa – Goa International Airport

•Hyderabad – Rajiv Gandhi International Airport

•Kolkata – Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose International Airport

•Mumbai – Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport

•Trivandrum – Trivandrum International Airport



Tourist Visa On Arrival (TVoA) is allowed for a maximum of two visits in a calendar year.


Tourist Visa On Arrival (TVoA) once issued on arrival is only single entry, non-extendable, non-convertible & not valid for

visiting Protected/Restricted and Cantonment Areas.


Applicants can track the status of their application Online by clicking visa status.


A built-in security block is enabled if applicant makes 3 unsuccessful attempts to make payment of the TVoA fee. The

application id will be blocked and the applicant would be required to re-apply by filling the application form again and

regenerating a new application id.


Nationals of Yellow Fever affected countries must carry YELLOW FEVER VACCINATION CARD at the time of arrival in

India, otherwise they may be quarantined for 6 days upon arrival in India. Visit India Ministry Of Health & Family Welfare

latest guidelines regarding yellow fever countries.



+91 9805163232

Travel to bodhgaya



Omalaya Travel Pvt. Ltd.

Dal Lake, Dharamsala Cantt 176216

Himachal Pradesh, India


Telephone: +91 9805163232


Website :


Submitting Form...

The server encountered an error.

Form received.


                     Copyright OmalayaTravel -2010 / 2016 - All Rights Reserved